You are here

Director's Awards Handed Out For Excellence In The National Parks


A maintenance supervisor with a passion for sustainable design, a superintendent who brings neighbors and stakeholders together, and a scientist dedicated to protecting endangered sea turtles are among the professionals being honored with National Park Service Director’s Awards.

"The American people have entrusted the National Park Service with care of amazing places we call national parks," said National Park Service Director Jonathan B. Jarvis. "There is a corps of skilled professionals dedicated to natural resources within our organization, and each year we recognize employees who go above and beyond in performance of their duties.

"These awards are based not upon years of service, pay grade or position, but on scientific and stewardship merit," Director Jarvis said. "This year's honorees were nominated by their peers across the National Park Service – the people who watched their efforts to preserve these precious resources so we may enjoy them both today and in the future."

The awards were created in the early 1990s and winners each receive a certificate and limited edition bison sculpture to mark their achievement.

Director's Award for Natural Resource Management: John R. Spence, research coordinator and Terrestrial Natural Resources chief, Glen Canyon National Recreation Area

Director's Award for Excellence in Natural Resource Research: Donna J. Shaver, chief, Division of Sea Turtle Science and Recovery, Padre Island National Seashore

Trish Patterson Student Conservation Association Award for Natural Resource Management in a Small Park: Troy W. Morris, Integrated Resources Program manager, Stones River National Battlefield

Director's Award for Excellence in Natural Resource Stewardship through Maintenance: Philip Goetkin, maintenance supervisor, Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts

Director's Award for Professional Excellence in Natural Resources: Todd Knoedler, geologist, Big South Fork National River and Recreation Area and Obed Wild & Scenic River

Director's Award for Superintendent of the Year for Natural Resource Stewardship: Sheridan Steele, superintendent, Acadia National Park

Add comment


This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

National Parks Traveler's Essential Park Guide